Book Reviews

A Book Review: The Secret Year by Jennifer R. Hubbard

5598819“Once you’re out here in the world, nobody cares where you used to live. Who you are, that’s what counts”

I bought this book from one of Half Price Books huge yearly sales so I got it fairly cheap. I was attracted to the story line and the length of the book which I classify as a short read being its under 200 pages.

This book is about a girl who dies and the guy she was having a fling with in secret is continuing to live and mange this secret even after she’s gone. While people who comforted her actual boyfriend he is struggling as the other guy dealing with her death.

So what really threw me for a loop was the way this book was written. Usually a book that is around the death of a main character is usually the climax of the book but this happened immediately at the beginning so bam she’s dead, and this is how he’s handling it. Because of this technique the author used I feel like what’s the point of the story? Don’t get me wrong the entire thing kept my interest rather well but there was no climax to it, it happened at the beginning so it leaves you pretty neutral the entire time reading it. For the less than a dollar I invested into this read and the minimal time with being a short book it was overall an okay read, I wasn’t highly impressed with it all but given the factors I wasn’t disappointed either. I honestly recommend this probably to the fictional lovers of a high school crowed.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a comment